User Agreement Faceapp

Founder Jaroslaw Goncharov told Forbes that subsequent iterations of the user agreement will most likely remove references to the right to access images from FaceApp users. His justification for its registration was primarily to reflect Instagram`s data protection policy, with the aim of transforming it into a “social network for faces”. Look for “FaceApp” and you`ll be faced with a veritable stream of songs that cover `this clause` in the user contract. As we`ve already pointed out, it`s actually allowed in iOS – giving users the ability to block an app full access to the camera role, but select individual photos to download if they wish. The Sensor Tower FaceApp data shows an even higher spike in the number of users among new users (iOS and Android). In June 2019, the app registered about 65,000 new FaceApp users per day. In the viral phase, this figure rose to 1.8 million new FaceApp users per day – a factor of 26. Mr. Goncharov shared a company statement that FaceApp only downloads photos selected by users to edit them.

“We never transmit any more images,” the statement continued. FaceApp continues that it “could” store photos that users have chosen to upload to the cloud for a short period of time, claiming that this is done for “power and traffic” – so that a user does not download the same photo repeatedly to perform another edition. 3. We accept requests from users to delete all their data from our servers. Our support team is currently overloaded, but these requests are our priority. For the fastest processing, we recommend sending requests from the FaceApp Mobile app with “Settings->Support->Report a bug” with the word “privacy” in the subject line. To do this, we are working on a better user interface. Another issue raised by FaceApp users is that the iOS app seems to have replaced the settings when a user refused access to their camera role after people indicated that they could always choose and upload a photo – that is, even if the app is not allowed to access their photos.

I can see why FaceApp chooses to upload the user`s photo to its server and process it on its server: from a professional point of view, hiding the photo processing code on their server makes it difficult for potential competitors to copy it. It also makes hacking more difficult FaceApp also says that users can demand that their data be deleted. Although it does not yet have the ability to do so in a very fluid way, users are encouraged to send deletion queries via the mobile app with “Settings->upport->Report a bug” with the word “privacy” in the subject, adding that it “works on a better user interface.” FaceApp continues that it could store photos that users have uploaded to the cloud for a short time, and claims it`s done for “electricity and traffic” – for example, to make sure a user doesn`t download the same photo multiple times to make another release.